The Bird Brains! I got that attitude!

December 13, 2010

A while back, close to 4 years I think, I found myself in a significant rut. I wasn’t producing any art – I worked a of sting minimum wage retail jobs and I didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life. I certainly didn’t think I would be where I am right now.

By chance, I met Matthew Scapillati.  Scappy ran a modest company called FINISH STRONG FAMILY and got me working. He put a bunch of my drawings on shirts and skateboards.

Holy shit right!? We would meet for brunch nearly every saturday to talk shop- it was a nice little routine and the making of a really great friendship. It also was an important stepping stone for me, after working with FSF, I opened my first Solo show at OMY.
My first design was a bird, actually most of my designs were! So it doesn’t surprise me, 4 years later, that Scaps asked me to paint him some birds.
They finally made it to him in Vancouver, which means I can FINALLY post them!!!! I’m so pleased with how they turned out.

(Birds landed in good company with Ansel Adams, Sharp Knives and deep thoughts)

(Chickadee – 8×10 Ink and Watercolour on 140 lb cold press)

(Purple Finch – 8×10 Prisma Colour Marker, Ink and Watercolour on 140 lb cold press)

(Magpie – 9×12  Ink and Watercolour on 140 lb cold press)

Thanks Scappy, Enjoy ’em!

2 Responses to “The Bird Brains! I got that attitude!”

  1. Rob Says:

    probably your best birds so far

  2. 76brushes Says:

    Truly these have to be seen to be believed. Just love these little guys already!!!!


Leave a Reply

